5 Things About Turning 39

turning39Yesterday, I turned the big 3-9. Just one step away from that giant milestone of 40. More and more I see that with age comes wisdom, accomplishment, and trivial things become just that – trivial. I think in their late 30’s into the 40’s and older most people are settled, accomplished, and comfortable in their own skin. With age comes wisdom; experience is a great teacher. With my quasi-milestone birthday this month, I have been thinking a lot about 39.
5 Things About Turning 39
1. No one believes you ARE actually 39.
When you tell someone you are 39, they do not believe you. You get laughs and are asked how many years you have been 39. (People are so funny.) I really want to pull out my driver’s license and show them that I am really 39. (Ask me how I feel about this next year.)
2. You are not 40 . . . yet.
With all my waxing poetic  about wisdom and aging blah, blah, blah, I am sure my forty-year-old friends would agree that turning forty can be a little daunting. Or maybe not. Maybe that is just my view of it. Regardless, I will embrace 39 for the next year and hopefully 40 will live up to my nicer expectations.
3. Fun takes on a new meaning.
Okay, this has really been one in the making throughout my 30’s. I have never been a particularly “wild” or “party” person anyway, but I am partial to having “old person fun.” Recently, we bought a new-to-us car. It is a certified pre-owned SUV. It is very pretty and very red, but here is what I loved most about it: the third row seats, the hidden compartments for storage, and it is still under warranty. When we were signing the papers, I was almost bouncing in my seat because we have a 5-year warranty on our new car. THAT was the most exciting part for me. Other excitement this week included picking a particular place for my birthday dinner because I had a coupon. To quote Phoebe Cates’s character in the movie, Shag, “Y’all, I am wild.”
4. Trying to convince your kids you are young.
I recently had a conversation with my fifteen-year-old about how I feel young in my head. It is so weird to me to have conversations with my kids that I remember having with my parents when I was their age. In my head, I am like – “Wait, what? I am the parent here? I am on the opposite side of this conversation?” Again in my head, I think I am still around 20. My kids disagree with this assessment.
5. Being settled, but open to new things.
Back to my original vein of thinking, 39 (and even 40 and beyond) are not so bad. Although it may be a little distressing to see a few more wrinkles and a few more gray hairs staring back at me in the mirror, I did earn those wrinkles and gray hairs. But there is a feeling of being settled with the maturity of age. Settled, but open to new challenges and new adventures. Now I do not plan to go skydiving, climb giant mountains, or any other extreme sport. My new adventures (so far) include getting my master’s degree, writing, and training to run a 10k.
All in all, 39 is not bad, and 40 doesn’t seem so scary now. Whatever our age, we should work to be achieve new goals and embrace new opportunities.
Blessed is the man who finds wisdom, the man who gains understanding, for she is more profitable than silver and yields better returns than gold. Proverbs 3:13-14
Leave a Reply

